Maybe you’ve recently moved to Arizona with your family. You’re new here and you don’t know how driving laws are different from your home state. We’ve got you covered.
Here are some Arizona Driver Licensing Laws new residents should know.
You Must Be 15 Years and Six Months Old At least For a Graduated Instruction Permit
An online permit application can be submitted to a Motor Vehicle Department office. Along with the application, you must submit:
- Two forms of identification (three if one is not a photo ID)
- Your Social Security Number
- Proof of residency
For applicants who are under 18, a legally and financially responsible parent or guardian must consent. The next step is passing written and vision tests.
After you receive your Graduated Driver License at the age of 16, there are certain restrictions to your driving. You can’t drive between 12 AM and 5 AM for the first six months, unless a licensed parent or guardian accompanies you in the front seat or if you’re driving to or from a school, work, or religious activity; or in the event of a family emergency.
You can’t drive a motor vehicle with more than one passenger under the age of 18, unless they’re your siblings, or unless a parent or legal guardian who has a valid driver license sits in the front passenger seat.
Arizona Has the Longest Renewal Period
According to Arizona state law, residents of Arizona are not required to renew their licenses until 65 years old.
Here’s the catch: residents are, however, required by law to have their license photo updated every 12 years. That’s still not as bad considering a 16-year-old wouldn’t have to fully renew their driving license for a good span of 49 years.
Do you live in Tempe, Chandler, or Glendale and feel the need to take driving classes to master Arizona’s roads?
Jacob’s Driving & Traffic School in Phoenix has been in the business for the last 10 years. We offer Arizona State approved courses that are comprehensive and practical. As a top-tier driving school, we offer the highest standard of driving education in the region.
Book a driving lesson now or call (602) 297-1000.